March

​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

2017

-OCTOBER 2016-

​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

As we approach the Spring time a very delightful wine presented itself to me and I think its a great time to preset

FOUR STAR

                  2015

This wine opened with a matured cranberry and crimson in color. Fresh strawberry aromas with hints of citrus. Flavors of  strawberry, with a hint of spice almost cinnamon-like with a citrus finish.

2018

​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

As we start the fall season I want to present to you the...

2014 Educated Guess Cabernet Sauvignon.


I discovered this wine on the shelves about 6 years ago and I was really taken back by the label. Since I share a love of math and calculations I suppose that is what attracted me to this wine. But the taste is what brought me back for more. Each time I drink this wine I always think I can try and solve the formulas of the bottle.      Wine + Glass = BLISS


Vibrant cranberry color when you hold it up to the light, with scents of clove and spice with dark blackberry notes. The taste is smooth and supple. With a medium viscosity, dark blackberry and a warm little pine essence, hints of clove with a little vanilla and oak undertone. 

2017

For the June 2017 Wine of the Month I want to present.....

                NATIV                       

                             IRPINIA AGLIANICO -2013


I first discovered this wine at a beautiful Italian restaurant and was very impressed with the quality.​Thick viscosity, full bodied. Blueberry cranberry aromas. Plum, blueberry, bold fruit flavors with hints of lemon peel, leather, and pepper. Leaves a beautiful finish on the tongue. 

​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

This wine of the Month may be the most special....43 year First Growth....I present...


Chateau Lafite Rothschild

                       1975


Upon opening this gem a cognac, vanilla, tobacco aroma filled my glass. The orange rust color that came out the bottle was a sight to see. Full bodied but so light and delicate, grapefruit, caramel, maple, strawberry, vanilla, and tobacco flavors and aromas. 

As we enter Fall I am happy to preset the November 2018 Wine-of-the-Month...


     FORTRESS- 2015


Black cherry in color. Aromas of dark cherry, cedar, grapefruit. Medium density with flavors of cranberry, dark cherry, a bit astringent with hints of oak, and  little moss. 

December

2017

​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

2018

For the month of October 2017 I wanted to present a premium wine from a renowned maker so I present....


            HESS- Special Cuvee

                            2015


​I have tried other HESS varieties but had not tried this one. It had me intrigued.... Upon pouring I noticed a light cranberry rose color in the wine. As I went in for the first sip, swirling it in my glass it came off very smooth and light with a strong lychee aroma, cranberry, and eucalyptus predominately. Fragrances of red berries and almost a cabbage essence and mild truffle aromas. 


​The taste on the palate was very similar, a light cranberry, strong lychee flavors, a little vegetative, but very buttery in texture and almost silky, with medium viscosity and density in the glass, it was definitely the wine I wanted to make the wine of the month.

MARCH

​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

August

​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

April is here and after much thought I want to present to you the 

      2005 Chateau Daugay      

This wine just so happens to be a 2005, a 12 year old vintage that I was excited to make as the April 2017 wine of the month. Upon opening the foil I noticed this wine actually had some mold growing on the cork. That didn't stop me but did get me a little concerned upon opening. After popping the cork a rich aroma of strawberry oak and cedar filled the air. After I double decanted the wine it opened up with rich darkberry, cocoa, plum skins, dark raspberry undertones with a little earthy minerality that coats your mouth. You can really taste the maturity of the grapes.

​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

2018

​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

​​It's now July and I wanted to pull out a special wine with some age to it so I am happy  to present for the July Wine-of-the-Month.....

   Domaine de Chevalier                       

                       2000


​Aged 17 years since the 2000 vintage and is considered an exceptional year for Bordeaux and is one of the premier vintages ever produced from Domaine de Chevalier. This wine needed about an hour of decanting before enjoying. This wine has a dense ruby color with a light rust color around the rim of the glass. The aromas were very sophisticated and refined. Purple flower pedals, dried candy fruits, vanilla, light tobacco, with a hint of mint and a crisp green apple freshness. Full flavors, very crisp and complex. Delicate floral notes, lavender, blackberry, light medium density, with a delicate crisp citrus smooth finish.

February

2017

To Be Announced....

​May

2018

I have been saving this wine for a few years now and decided its the right time to open it. I had wanted to wait until it this wine hit its 10 year mark before I popped its cork. A first growth and considered the oldest of the first growths

I present the ...


2008 Chateau Haut Brion


Deep Purple rich color. Very complex rich aromas, strawberry jam, dark fruit forward, tobacco, licorice, long lingering flavor, cherry, cedar, with a hint of spice. Very perfumed as it opens up with hints of lavender and chamomile. Warm spice. Very rich layered flavors, voluptuous flavor in fact, dark fruit, little acidity, liquorice, jammy and chewy tannins, cherry, full mouth embodied fig, plum, dense, the longest finish ever. Crisp green apple and lavender.

2016

​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

Who doesn't love a good Bordeaux... 

I found this Bordeaux and being a 2000 vintage, a very acclaimed vintage, I am happy to present...

      Chateau Dalem

                  2000

Upon opening the cork a citrus aroma filled the glass with hints of orange peel, pear, leafy, with a little musk.

Amazing garnet color, with an orangey sheer around the glass. Having a taste, supple, well-rounded flavors, citrus, yellow fruits, orange peel, light cherry, and crisp green apple peel.

After the July 2018 wine of the month, I thought I would wait to open another bottle of Lafite but sometimes....you just gotta enjoy life. So I am happy to present the August 2018 Wine-of-the-Month....


        Chateau Lafite Rothschild

                            2009


This acclaimed vintage of Lafite always has impressed. The few times I have had the 2009 it has just taken my breathe away. The 2009 and 2010 vintages are probably the best vintages of the last 10 years. Dark leather, tobacco, lavender, flowers and honey suckle aromas and flavors filled my glass. This vintage of Lafite is very elegant, velvety with luscious flavors, malty textures, chewy and complex in structure. Rich tannins and exotic flower flavors with a very long finish that highlights what a first growth Bordeaux can produce. 

2014

I have been sitting in the dark for the last week due to Hurricane Harvey and I wanted to drink some of my best wines but realized that this was not the right circumstances to enjoy some of the best wines until the timing was right. Well....power is back on and now its time for the September wine of the month. I present the..

            2013 PAPALE Oro

I have had this wine many times before, it is absolutely magnificent...if you can find it. The fruity aromas and buttery, silky tastes it has is absolutely delightful. It is definitely a wine that will impress if you have never had it before. Aromas of red berries, mature grape flavors, a little sweet even, but with such supple and silky flavors that warm the palate and brings delight into any place and time. 

September 

2017

​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

January

2018

January

The much  anticipated...

October wine favorite is the

2014 Joel Gott Cabernet Savignon.

I discovered this wine about 4-5

years ago when the 2011 vintage became available. After I tried this wine, little did I know that Joel Gott would soon become the family "house wine" over the next few years.


I spent months buying cases of this wine and clearing shelves whenever I could. Its a excellent bold wine that is great for any occasion. Now I try to make sure that I always have at least one on the shelf.   


An Almondy dark berry forest aroma with a taste of cedar with strong plum overtones with dark berry undertones. Medium to high acidity that has a deep amber ruby, red-ish violet color.


​This wine would be excellent to let sit for a few years to see how it matures. But perfect to drink now. 

                    Drink Now or Hold...

​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

JUNE

July 2017

2017

April 2017

November 2016

MAY

​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

It's May and I want to share a gem that I discovered vacationing in Mexico.

​I present...

  Unico - 2010


This amazing wine is simply breath-taking. It has the boldness of a French Bordeaux with the fruitiness of a California cab. This wine is only sold in Mexico so next time you find yourself there, be sure to ask for it.

Upon opening this wine pours a light strawberry/medium ruby color. The bouquet is bold and full-bodied and fills the glass with a buttery, lavender blossom, melon, black tea, passion fruit and maple aroma.

Flavors of vanilla, passion fruit, dark chocolate, strawberry jam, lychee, a little herbaceous, with amazing round bold maple syrup flavors. 

DECEMBER

JULY

​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

This month marks the 2 year Anniversary of Daveswinereview.The last couple years have been fun posting about my favorite wines. I hope I can continue with this venture as it comes from a place of passion and regardless there will be wine tastings in my future until the test of time. So I have decided to give the September 2018 Wine-of-the-Month to.....

Le Petit Mouton De Mouton  Rothschild    2011

This second growth wine from Mouton Rothschild showed incredible balance. Aromas of citrus, orange, lemon peel, apple filled the glass. Upon tasting, the citrus notes are very forward. There is a rich freshness to this wine with floral and citrus notes, red fruits maybe even a hint of apple that makes this wine incredible.

​​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

2018

​​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

​​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

A p r I L  

OCTOBER

2017

NOVEMBER

​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

December

PAPALE Silver 

             -2014​-

So I have been wanting to try this wine for a while now. I see it on the wine list periodically and luckily enough my local grocery store was giving out samples so I lucked out. So for February's wine of the month I preset...    DECOY                      2014

Dark red color, thick viscosity. Smells of fresh leather and bark with a bit a sweetness in the front. Not too sweet but just enough to still be balanced and very drinkable. This wine I would describe as being a little bit fruity with hints of chamomile and lavender.


October

PETRUS

​      2011

I have been saving this one in my cellar for a special occasion...

One of the most renowned wine producers in all the world....This famous right bank bordeaux, made of 100% merlot, and known for their acclaimed blue clay grown on the highest appellation in Pomerol.

      Incredible bouquet....It took my breathe away once I popped this bottle. Very rich, concentrated, and layered aromas and flavors. Full bodied to the max. Dark berry aromas, cucumber, and stone. Flavors of strong dark fruits, plum, dark cherry, plum, shale, floral, complex yet balanced.

-SEPTEMBER 2016-

February

​​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

November

2017

TIGNANELLO

​     For December's wine of the month. I am proud to present the 2012 TIGNANELLO antinori. This wine has been a favorite for its refined flavors and its velvety finish. This Italian wine is a wine that I like to pull out on special occasions... It's like velvet!


​Vibrant color, Refined flavors and aroma, beautifully balanced so suave. Very delicate taste of purple flower pedals, lavender, rose, and a little cherry. Dense legs, suave beginning and velvety finish.

It's now August and I am happy to present


STAG'S LEAP ARTEMIS

                  2012


This wine opened up with a rich color of a fine raspberry/strawberry tinge. Orange peel on the nose upon opening, with a hint of spice and eucalyptus, wet grass, wet leather, with a hint of tobacco. Upon tasting this wine it was very light on the palate, and very delicate. This is not what you would call a bold wine, but with hints of citrus, pear, medium tannin, a hint of clove, mandarin orange with a lemon freshness. Very easy and delight to drink.

It's May and for the wine of the month I am happy to present...


        Gérard Bertrand - 2013


This blend is that of Syrah and Garignan a very unique blend in fact. Upon opening fragrances of wet forest floor, moss, earthy, a little menthol, with a slight hint of oak. The first taste was absolutely amazing, I was so impressed. This wine is robust, supple, very smooth, dark fruits, very lush tannin, forest floor, earthy with a hint of citrus.

August      2017

​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

Its the holiday season and here is a wine that one of my wine consulatants had been urging me to try for the longest. I always had my mind on other wines but this month I decided it was time. So when I asked him about it he said this wine will knock your socks off. So it is my honor to present the December wine of the month....​​


   Chateau Batailley                                       2013


This wine was moderately light upon pouring with a light cherry/raspberry color. Light essence of oak with a blanket of cedar overlay on the senses. Aromas of a leather briefcase and opening a cedar cigar box with a light rainforest mist. Upon tasting this wine was amazing...so light and delicate. It actually reminded me of eating an angel cook cake or pound cake with the soft sponginess that I have not experienced in a long time. Very smooth and lush. The grapes tasted very mature and bold with no acidity, and finess in the glass. Tastes reminded me of leather, rain mist, raspberry without the tart.

After much thought I want to present my March 2017 wine of the month.....PAPALE -Silver. This wine has impressed me incredibly. I would have to say this wine is a hands down is A Wine Tasting Adventure.


This wine has a great color with medium density. The aromas of this wine reminds me of sitting on a sandy beach with the ocean breeze blowing, It is very fruity and citrusy in the mouth. At first taste the fruits penetrate your taste buds lightly for a second then hits you with high tannic currants. This wine has a little higher alcohol contains at 14%. Then after about 20 minutes the wine finishes opening up and the flavors balance out beautifully. This wine has amazing variations in flavors.

2018

2018

2018

June

​​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

​​I am so Proud and excited to present to you my very 1st official wine review for Daveswinereview.com. I present to you the 2012 Jordan -Cabernet Sauvignon. This maker has been a family favorite of mine which I have been so fortunate to enjoy their 1999 - to present vintages. This is just a remarkable vintage if you keep up with the maker. An amazing vintage to let age. This wine will open up in about 15-20 minutes So...... Don't drink it all before then. As it opens up it becomes more delicate and more refined as it rolls down the palate.


So I say.... "Drink Now or Hold"


A Sonoma County favorite at 13.8 % alc.


2018

​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

Bringing in the New Year I want to wish everybody a Happy 2018 with a wine that I was very impressed with and that I have seen create a wave of satisfaction....So I am happy to present the January 2018 Wine-of the Month                Josh Lodi Reserve 2015.


This wine has rich and lovely aromas off the bouquet. Medium color while hints of hibiscus, honeysuckle, pomegranate, and graphite aromas fill the glass. Flavors of apricot, lychee, pear, honey and vanilla bring a very delicate and richness to the palate.


HAPPY NEW YEAR!!!


It's 2017 and I wanted to let you know about my favorite non-vintage wine. I knew it would be the perfect wine to kick off for the new year. So with out a due I present ....

               La Fiole du Pape

             Chateauneuf-du-Pape

Upon opening this bottle you can see this bottle is very special and unique. The bottle is what first caught my eye when I first decided to try this wine. The bottle is made to look as if it were hand-blown and had dust already on it. Upon my first taste I knew this wine was a keeper.


​Upon pouring you will notice a very light almost strawberry color almost like a pinot noir. Very light color yet thick upon swirling in the glass. Excellent bouquet, very floral, refreshing, light oak and cedar fragrance. Taste of almost strawberry with raspberry undertones.....I would say fruity...yet sophisticated. This wine is very light on the palate. Tastes of fresh greens, citrus, and flower pedals.

September 

2017

2018

​​​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

2018

After much thought... I have finally chosen the June Wine-of-the-Month...

     DUCKHORN - 2014

Upon opening you get cranberry and plum aromas with rode pedals, and bright flowers. Ruby in color. Upon tasting, this wine is very fruit forward, thick dense, bold flavors or peach, pear, citrus. This wine is very robust, with rich flavors and bold flavors, very dry and very long lasting. This wine is very supple, succulent, with bright fruit notes and excellent composition.

​​DAVE's

Wine of the Month         

Dave's Wine Review of the 2012 Jordan


  • Smell: As I swirl it in my glass I smell strong essences of plum, cedar, oak, blackberry, dark cherry, and a deep floral bouquet.


  • Taste: Remarkably Full-bodied, mellow tannins, dry dark fruits that have a smooth finish that stays on the tongue.


  •  Sight:  Deep ruby color with purple undertones. It even has mature legs for such a young wine. As I swirl it in my glass and look down at my cup you feel as though you are almost entering a ruby abyss.



Comments: Opens up after 15-20 minutes. An AMAZING vintage. Reminds me of their 2002 vintage. Goes great with cheeses, deli meats, crackers, cookies, and Italian food.

The second growth to the famous Chateau Margaux I present the October's Wine-of-the-Month.....


Pavillon Rouge - 2008


This 10yr second growth had a sharp cranberry, astringent aroma of wet leather, stone, and charcoal. Upon tasting I got notes of pomegranate, stone, with chewy tannin, light texture, a little bit musty with a long finish.